Welcome to the Cascade District Web Site

District Conference History

The Oregon-Washington Annual Conference celebrated its 100th year of existence as a conference member of the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) Zion Church in 1992.

The Oregon Conference was established by Bishop' C. C. Petty in 1892. The Oregon - Washington Conference was reorganized on October 23, 1910 by Bishop J. S. Caldwell.

The,Portland, Oregon Church had been establish in the days of Bishops Moore and C1inton. Bishop Clinton established churches in other parts of Oregon and in the state of California Conference, (which included all of California, Arizona, Oregon, and Washington, he attempted to organize the Oregon Conference in 1892. The bishops succeeding him, Bishop Alexander Walters and Bishop George W. Clinton, did not attempt to hold separate conferences due to the tremendous span of territory. The Far West was a mission field of the East and Midwest.

At the turn of the century, Bishop G. W. Clinton had established churches at Seattle and Spokane, Washington. The work in Washington was organized by Revs. G. H. W. Smith and J. E. Transue.

Bishop J. S. Caldwell reorganized the Conference. Rev. later became Bishop W. W. Matthews was in Portland and working in that area to help extend the borders of the conference. The work included the churches in Washington, and in 1916 the conference became known as the Oregon-Washington Conference. By 1920, it had spread to parts of Idaho and Wyoming and Bishop Kyles had added a few missions including Walla Walla, Washington.

The churches of the conference were organized as follows:

1862    First Church, Portland, Oregon
1930    Ebenezer, Seattle, Washington
1972    Catherine Memorial, Seattle, Washington
1972    Pauline Memorial, Salem, Oregon
1975    Community, Vancouver, Washington
1981    Sojourner Truth, Seattle, Washington
1981    Esperance, Tacoma, Washington
1991    People's, Portland, Oregon
1994    New Life, Seattle, Washington
1995    Daily Bread, Seattle, Washington
1998    Noah's Ark, Renton, Washington
2006    New Life, Vancouver, Washington


Bishops who have served the Oregon-Washington Conference

Bishop Charles Calvin Pettey

Bishop George Wylie Clinton

Not Pictured.

Bishop John Wesley Alstork

Bishop Josiah Samuel Caldwell

Bishop Lynwood Westinghouse Kyles

Bishop John William Martin

Bishop William Walter Matthews

Bishop William Cornelius Brown

Not Pictured.

Bishop William Andrew Stewart

Bishop Joseph Dixon Cauthen

Bishop William Alexander Hilliard

Bishop George Junius Leake III

Bishop Herman Leroy Anderson

Not Pictured.

Bishop George Washington Walker, Sr.

Bishop Clarence Carr

Bishop Roy A. Holmes

Bishop Dennis V. Proctor

Bishop W. Darin Moore